New York Divorce Information

What does divorce mean?

Divorce is the final, legal ending of a marriage by court order.

What legal reasons do I need to get divorced in New York?

You must have grounds or legally acceptable reasons to get divorced in New York. Some acceptable grounds in New York include:

a) Cruel and Inhuman treatment
c) Living separate and apart pursuant to a separation agreement
Irretrievable breakdown in the relationship for a period of at least 6 months

What is an Uncontested Divorce?

Your divorce will be uncontested if both you and your spouse want to get a divorce and
agree about what will happen with your children, your finances and your property after the divorce.

If your divorce is uncontested, and you and your spouse have reached agreement on all financial and parenting issues, make sure to let your divorce lawyer know – this should minimize your legal fees!

What is a Contested Divorce?

Your divorce will be contested if either you or your spouse: do not want to get a divorce, disagree about the grounds (legal reasons) for the divorce or disagree about what will happen with your children, your finances or your property after the divorce.

Do I need a Lawyer?

New York Divorce Law is complicated so you should meet with an experienced divorce lawyer – even if you think your divorce will be easy or straightforward. The Underwood Law Firm is one of the few firms in the Syracuse area that offers free consultations on Divorce & Family Law so that everyone has an opportunity to speak with an experienced attorney about their case.

The Underwood Law Firm handles all aspects of family law including adoption, child custody, child support, separation and divorce cases in the following areas: Syracuse, Utica, Albany, Watertown, Oswego, Binghamton; Onondaga County and Madison County, including the towns, cities and villages of: Fayetteville, Manlius, DeWitt, Morrisville, Cicero, Liverpool, East Syracuse, Syracuse, Baldwinsville, Camillus, Clay, Fabius, Elbridge, Geddes, Jordan, Lafayette, Lysander, Marcellus, Minoa, North Syracuse, Otisco, Pompey, Salina, Skaneateles, Spafford, Tully, Van Buren, Eaton, Cazenovia, Canastota, Brewerton, Solvay, Central Square, Cato, Chittenango, Oneida and many other areas.

Updated: 1/3/18